Departmental Course Requirements before Spring 2014

Beginning in Spring 2014, the Anthropology Department revised the departmental course requirements for majors.  Students who declared Anthropology as their major with the Class of 2015 or earlier have the option to follow either set of departmental requirements. 

Prior to Spring 2014, the course requirements for an anthropology major were a minimum of eight departmental courses comprised of three required core courses (ANT 201, Introduction to Anthropology; ANT 301, The Ethnographer's Craft; and ANT 390, History of Anthropological Theory) plus five electives chosen in accordance with the student's interests. The information on electives, cognates, and grading did not change from the former to the current requirements. 

See current requirements for majoring in Anthropology.