People

Faculty

João Biehl

Joao Biehl
  • Professor;
  • Co-Director, Program in Global Health and Health Policy
João Biehl is Susan Dod Brown Professor of Anthropology and Woodrow Wilson School Faculty Associate at Princeton...
Phone: (609) 258-6327
Email: jbiehl@princeton.edu
Office: 128 Aaron Burr Hall

John Borneman

  • Professor
John Borneman is Professor of Anthropology in the Department of Anthropology at Princeton. He has conducted fieldwork...
Phone: (609) 258-7368
Email: borneman@princeton.edu
Office: 126 Aaron Burr Hall

Isabelle Clark-Decès

Isabelle Clark-Decès
  • Professor;
  • Director, Program in South Asian Studies
Interests ritual, kinship, social relations, contemporary Indian society, ethnography.
Phone: (609) 258-6814
Email: ideces@princeton.edu
Office: 132 Aaron Burr Hall

Lauren Coyle

Lauren Coyle
  • Assistant Professor
Coyle's research and teaching interests lie at the intersections of legal and political anthropology, critical theory,...
Phone: (609) 258-8856
Email: laurencoyle@princeton.edu
Office: 121 Aaron Burr Hall

Elizabeth A. Davis

Placeholder image
  • Associate Professor;
  • Dep Rep for Undergraduates;
  • Acting Director, Program in Ethnographic Studies
Elizabeth Davis is Associate Professor of Anthropology and a Behrman Faculty Fellow in the Humanities. Her research and...
Phone: (609) 258-8864
Email: ead@princeton.edu
Office: 122 Aaron Burr Hall

Julia Elyachar

Placeholder image
  • Associate Professor
I am an anthropologist broadly trained in economics, history of political and economic thought, political economy,...
Phone: (609) 258-2896
Email: elyachar@princeton.edu
Office: 130 Aaron Burr Hall

Carol J. Greenhouse

  • Professor;
  • Director, Program in Ethnographic Studies
Carol Greenhouse is Arthur W. Marks ’19 Professor of Anthropology at Princeton University.  Her research focuses on the...
Phone: (609) 258-7369
Email: cgreenho@princeton.edu
Office: 125 Aaron Burr Hall

Andrew Alan Johnson

Andrew Johnson
  • Assistant Professor
Andrew Alan Johnson’s research focuses upon the afterlife of environmental and economic catastrophe in the northern and...
Phone: (609) 258-2186
Email: andrewjohnson@princeton.edu
Office: 123 Aaron Burr Hall

Rena Lederman

Rena Lederman
  • Professor;
  • Director of Graduate Studies
Professor Lederman’s recent interests have included relationality, expertise, and ethics; the politics of “method” in...
Phone: (609) 258-5534
Email: lederman@princeton.edu
Office: 127 Aaron Burr Hall

Serguei A. Oushakine

serguei oushakine
  • Associate Professor;
  • Director, Program in Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies
Serguei Oushakine has conducted fieldwork in the Siberian part of Russia, as well as in Belarus and Kyrgyzstan. His...
Phone: 609-258-2385
Email: oushakin@princeton.edu
Office: 226 East Pyne Building

Carolyn Rouse

Carolyn Rouse
  • Professor;
  • Department Chair;
  • Director, Program in African Studies
Carolyn Rouse is a professor and chair of the Department of Anthropology and the Director of the Program in African...
Phone: 609-258-4556
Email: crouse@princeton.edu
Office: 129 Aaron Burr Hall

Associated Faculty

Amy Borovoy

Placeholder image
  • Associate Professor of East Asian Studies
Phone: 609-258-2471
Email: aborovoy@princeton.edu
Office: 215 Jones Hall

Emeritus Faculty

James Boon

Placeholder image
  • Professor Emeritus
Phone: (609) 258-2896
Email: jaboon@princeton.edu
Office: 41 Williams Street, Room 114

Hildred Geertz

Placeholder image
  • Professor Emerita
Email: hgeertz@princeton.edu

Abdellah Hammoudi

  • Professor Emeritus
Email: hammoudi@princeton.edu
Office: 04 Dillon Court West

Alan Mann

  • Professor Emeritus;
  • Professor Emeritus, University of Pennsylvania
Phone: (609) 258-5536
Email: mann@princeton.edu
Office: 3 Dillon Court West

Gananath Obeyesekere

Placeholder image
  • Professor Emeritus
Email: sekere@princeton.edu

Ranjini Obeyesekere

Placeholder image
  • Lecturer Emerita
Email: robeyese@gmail.com

Lawrence Rosen

  • Professor
Phone: (609) 258-2671
Email: lrosen@princeton.edu
Office: 131 Aaron Burr Hall

Visiting Faculty

Didier Fassin

  • Visiting Professor;
  • James D. Wolfensohn Professor of Social Science, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton
Email: dfassin@ias.edu

Janet Monge

  • Visiting Professor;
  • Associate Director, University of Pennsylvania Museum;
  • Adjunct Associate Professor, University of Pennsylvania
Email: monge@princeton.edu
Office: 215 Aaron Burr Hall

Lecturers

Jeffrey Himpele

Jeffrey Himpele photo
  • Acting Director, VizE Lab for Ethnographic Data Visualization;
  • Lecturer in Anthropology
Phone: 609-258-8158
Email: jhimpele@princeton.edu
Office: 319 Aaron Burr Hall

Bridget Purcell

Bridget Purcell
  • Lecturer
Phone: (609) 258-9943
Email: bpurcell@princeton.edu
Office: 314 Aaron Burr Hall

Postdoctoral Fellows

Nomi Stone

Nomi Stone
  • Postdoctoral Fellow
Email: nsstone@princeton.edu
Office: 315 Aaron Burr Hall

Staff

Gabriela Drinovan

  • Undergraduate/Graduate Assistant
Phone: (609) 258-4549
Email: gdrinova@princeton.edu
Office: 115 Aaron Burr Hall

Jeremiah LaMontagne

  • Technical Support Specialist
Email: jl21@princeton.edu
Office: 112 Aaron Burr Hall

Mo Lin Yee

  • Undergraduate Administrator;
  • Program Manager, Ethnographic Studies Certificate
Phone: (609) 258-5535
Email: myee@princeton.edu
Office: 114 Aaron Burr Hall

Carol Zanca

  • Department Manager
  • Graduate Administrator
Phone: (609) 258-4537
Email: czanca@princeton.edu
Office: 113 Aaron Burr Hall

Other Anthropologists at Princeton

Peter Bogucki

  • Associate Dean, School of Engineering
Phone: (609) 258-4554
Email: bogucki@princeton.edu
Office: C207 Engineering Quad C-Wing

Jessica Ham

  • Postdoctoral Research Associate, Woodrow Wilson School
Phone: 6092587386
Email: jh59@princeton.edu
Office: 119.1 Julis Romo Rabinowitz Building

Amy Krauss

  • Postdoctoral Fellow, Global Health Program, Center for Health and Wellbeing
Email: Akrauss@princeton.edu
Office: 118 Julis Romo Rabinowitz Building

Satyel Larson

  • Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Studies
Phone: (609) 258-3609
Email: satyellarson@princeton.edu
Office: 115 Jones Hall

George Laufenberg

  • Writing Seminar Faculty
Phone: (609) 673-1784
Email: glaufenb@princeton.edu
Office: E010 Baker Hall (Whitman College)

Erin Raffety

  • Writing Seminar Faculty
Phone: (609) 673-9507
Email: eraffety@princeton.edu
Office: D002 Lauritzen Hall (Whitman College)

Tracey Rosen

  • Postdoctoral Research Associate, Seeger Center for Hellenic Studies
Email: tarosen@princeton.edu
Office: Scheide Caldwell House

Page Selinsky

  • Lecturer
Email: selinsky@princeton.edu
Office: 215 Aaron Burr Hall